Updating Guest Customisation

Guest customisation is the system that allows Cloud IaaS to set some details of your virtual server, including the host name, administrative password and networking.

This system can be used to update the administrator password, run the windows sysprep tool, or update the host name after the server has been deployed. To update the details, navigate to your server by selecting either vApps, the desired vApp, then click the label of the virtual server, or select Virtual Servers and click the label of the desired virtual server.

From the Overview dropdown at the top, select Guest Customisation

sel.PNG

From here, you can review the current configuration. To edit these details, click the edit icon edit.PNG

You will be presented with the following fields, which are detailed below:

details.PNG

Host Name Specify the operating system's host name (computer name in Windows)
Enabled Enable or disable the guest customisation system. This must be enabled for any changes to apply
Change SID Runs the sysprep tool on Windows, and is required for a server to join a domain
Automatically Reboot Specifies if the guest OS can be rebooted to apply the changes. If this is disabled, you will need to reboot manually after updating
Allow Local Admin Password Enables or disables the local administrator account's password
Auto Generate Password If enabled, the random password generator will create the password. If disabled, you can specify the password int he next field
Admin Password If auto generate is disabled, your specified admin password should be entered here
Automatically Logon as Admin Defines if the console should automatically login to the admin account on startup
Require Admin to Change Password If set, on first login the admin account will be forced to change its password
Join Domain Set this server to join an existing domain
Script You can enter custom guest customization commands in this field (batch file for Windows, shell script for Linux)

Once you've set the appropriate fields, click the Update button. If a reboot is required and automatically reboot is enabled, the server may restart to apply the changes. If not, you may need to manually restart the virtual server.

Have more questions? Submit a request

0 Comments

Please sign in to leave a comment.
Powered by Zendesk